Ukraine to grant several countries visa-free entry

by Maruf Adedeji

Ukrainian President, Volodymyr Zelenskiy, has signed a decree that allows tourists from several countries to visit Ukraine without visa, starting from August 1, 2020.

These countries given consideration include Australia, New Zealand and several Arab states, according to a publication on the president’s website.

Zelenskiy had said earlier in June that Ukraine was considering canceling its visa requirement for tourists from several countries, including China.

The move is targeted at attracting more visitors after easing of lockdowns imposed due to coronavirus pandemic.

It will be visa-free if a tourist’s stay in Ukraine is not beyond 90 days.

According to the president’s communications department, a foreign tourist usually spends $120-150 a day and stays in Ukraine for an average of three to four days. Around 14 million tourists visited Ukraine in 2018.

In 2019, Ukraine introduced electronic visas for citizens of 52 countries, with a single 30-day visa at $85.

Ukraine grants European Union citizens entry for short trips without a visa.

You may also like

Leave a Comment