Morocco authorities ban travel to 8 cities as coronavirus cases increase

by Abdulmumeen S. Yitta

Moroccan authorities have announced the closure of eight cities in the north of the kingdom due to the rapid surge in COVID-19 cases.

This was declared in a joint statement released by the Moroccan Ministries of Interior and Health on Monday July 27, 2020.

“Taking into account the significant increase in the number of COVID-19 infections over the past few days, it has been decided that all movement from and to the cities of Tangier, Tetouan, Fez, Meknes, Casablanca, Berrechid, Settat and Marrakech will be prevented,” the statement reads.

“The decision to close the eight cities was based on the conclusions of daily monitoring and periodic evaluation of the epidemiological situation in our country; and as part of the strengthening of the measures taken to stem the spread of this pandemic,” it adds.

The statement continued that the people’s lack of respect for preventive measures such as social distancing, the use of masks, and sterilisation methods, despite their abundance in the markets has led to the surge in coronavirus cases.

Morocco has since the declaration of COVID-19, registered 21,000 coronavirus cases including 316 deaths.

You may also like

Leave a Comment