The first meeting of EAC audit and risk committee



By Godfrey Olukya  12-11-2012

The very first meeting of the East African Community (EAC) Audit and Risk Committee has concluded in Rwanda’s capital Kigali after going on for  5 days.

East African community comprises of Rwanda, Burundi Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania. Other countries including South Sudan, Democratic republic of Congo and Somalia have also applied to join the community.

A statement issued today by east African community secretariat said the Council of Ministers at its 25th Meeting held on 30 August 2012 in Bujumbura, Burundi, appointed members of the East African Community Audit and Risk Committee comprising seasoned technocrats from all the five partner states.

It is that committee that has just completed first meeting.

Addressing members of the Committee, the Deputy Secretary General  Finance and Administration, Mr. Jean Claude Nsengiyumva noted that the establishment of the Audit and Risk Committee was a great milestone in the EAC Governance Process.

He said, ‘This committee is one of the cornerstones of good governance and will enhance accountability and help in the realization of value for money in the operations of the Community’s project and programmes.’

Mr. Nsengiyumva emphasized that the Committee will help to oversee the audit function of the Community and pledged full support to the Committee in discharge of its functions.

The Kigali meeting, among others, considered and approved the Internal Audit Plans for the financial year 2012-2013 for the EAC Secretariat, Inter University Council for East Africa and Lake Victoria Basin Commission.

The Committee also received the audit commission report on the audited financial statements of the East African Community for the year ended 30 June 2011 and the Management Letter, plus other external auditors reports.



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.